#MotivationMonday: Keep On Keeping On

I really don’t know where to start. I’ve written and rewritten this blog post about a dozen times now.

I mean, I could say the usual stuff. College is hard, but it’s worth it. It’ll get better. You’re almost at the finish line. Don’t give up! You got this.

Yeah, yeah, yeah.

But honestly, those words don’t have any worth to me anymore because I’ve been hearing them for the past four years now. It just goes in one ear and out the other. When I’m drained and stressed out from school, saying that stuff doesn’t really make me feel better.

At this point, the only thing that’ll make me feel better is graduating.

I’m currently taking three summer classes. Summer I semester ends in about two weeks and then I’ll be taking two more summer classes during the Summer II session. Mind you, summer classes are condensed into a 7-week period instead of the usual 14. So I’m doing 14 week’s worth of work in 7 weeks.

Don’t even get me started on the other things I do on top of school: working, writing, video production stuff, and everything else because you know you have to be a multidimensional superhuman these days to get anywhere in life.

Anyway, I’d much rather be enjoying my summer, filling it with beach days at Lake Michigan and taking road trips to Chicago and being at home more often with my family.

Instead, I’m spending most of these beautiful 80-degree days inside reading and writing papers. I do enjoy my classes, and I like what I’m learning about. But you know how college is. It gets tough, stressful, more and more difficult to keep on keeping on…

But at the end of the day when it’s 3 A.M. and I’ve finally finished all of my work, I realize that I have to because I know that in December when I walk across that stage, I’ll be so happy that I did keep on keeping on. I will be so happy that I made it through the most difficult, challenging yet rewarding years of my life.

I may not be able to do all of the things that I want to right now. And it’s hard watching and seeing everyone else do what you’d rather be doing or be where you’d rather be. However, I have to remember that I’ll get there, too. And next summer, and all the summers thereafter, I’ll be able to do whatever I want, whenever I want.

AND. I. CAN’T. WAIT.

I just have to keep going, keep going, keep going.

College is hard, but the moment you want to give up is the moment that you have to work harder than ever.

Published by

Tirrea Billings

Tirrea Billings is a native of Saginaw, Michigan, and is the epitome of #BlackGirlMagic with a love for writing and documentary filmmaking. Her life goal is to be the change that the film industry needs: more women and more people of color. She is a keen activist, and writes about issues and social injustice within the Black community. In her spare time, she is a cheer coach, yoga connoisseur, and a believer of supporting organic, locally sourced foods. Motto: Fear the girl with the smell of coffee on her lips, and dresses well on Mondays.

One thought on “#MotivationMonday: Keep On Keeping On”

  1. Hey!

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Like

Tell Us What You Think...

