Small Town Summers in Kalamazoo, MI: Big Moe’s

If you’re ever in Southwest Michigan and craving insanely good barbecue, Big Moe’s BBQ Sauce and Catering is THE spot to satisfy your palate.

image3.JPG

I came across Big Moe’s late last week when I was looking for somewhere new to eat. After eating their food for the first time, I’m so happy that I didn’t settle for pizza!

Big Moe’s is owned by Pritchett Moe, who is also an alumni and former football player of Western Michigan University (Go Broncos!). He majored in Community Education with a minor in Physical Education.

moe_1574.jpg

Pritchett Moe’s down home BBQ sauce is a famous family recipe that was created generations ago in good ol’ Southern Alabama.

Moe says, “I have been pretty successful in my business ventures. I have taken all that I have learned in school and through family and friends and created two steadily growing businesses. I have perfected my grandmother’s sauce and gotten it into all area Sam’s Clubs and Walmart stores. We are very excited to be a local vendor here!”

It’s no question why Big Moe’s famous BBQ sauce has won over 200 awards. It’s so good that I could literally drink it through a straw, and I’m not even over exaggerating.

image4.JPG

Big Moe’s is known for more than their sauce. Their menu is extremely diverse. From ribs, chicken, wraps, hot dogs, and even desserts, Big Moe’s has it all!

image1.JPG

Pritchett Moe is a leader both in and outside of the kitchen. His advice to students: “Toe the line, make good decisions, finish school, and get your work done. It is the most important job you will ever have, and will strengthen your future.”

Unfortunately, the food was SO good and I was SO hungry that I forgot to take a picture of it before I ate it all! Oh well, looks like you’ll just have to see for yourself!

Big Moe’s is located at 1317 Waverly Dr. Kalamazoo, MI 49048. You can also check out their website.

Published by

Tirrea Billings

Tirrea Billings is a native of Saginaw, Michigan, and is the epitome of #BlackGirlMagic with a love for writing and documentary filmmaking. Her life goal is to be the change that the film industry needs: more women and more people of color. She is a keen activist, and writes about issues and social injustice within the Black community. In her spare time, she is a cheer coach, yoga connoisseur, and a believer of supporting organic, locally sourced foods. Motto: Fear the girl with the smell of coffee on her lips, and dresses well on Mondays.

Tell Us What You Think...

