What does Success Mean to you?

The way I measure my personal success is extremely different than the next person. The idea of the American Dream has upgraded tremendously, there aren’t many hoping for a ranch styled home with a white picket fence and a dog. This generation sees and breathes dollar signs, meaning 8 bedrooms homes with walk in closets, an indoor pool, and an assortment of vehicles.

But my connotation of success is different than that; to me, success is obtaining my Bachelors and eventually Masters degree. Black people fought for decades for the right to get an education freely and I will not let it be in vain. Not only am I black, but I am a woman also and even today women are denied an education, so I will work hard for those who do not have this opportunity.

Success is taking care of my Mother, Father, and siblings. If I have wealth and a place to stay, so will they, and if they are taken care of I have did my job. My family will want for nothing if I am living lavishly because you take care of those who took care of you.

Success to me is enjoying my career and happy to go to work everyday. I don’t see myself working a 9-5, at all. I am a person who likes to be involved and to dabble into everything. I want to be a Publicist, Real Estate Agent, own multiple franchises and more.

Success is giving back to the less fortunate because I am humbled and know where I’ve come from. I never was the kid who had everything and never acted like it. There’s beauty in the struggle and I work hard for all I have.

Lastly, Success to me is to having a healthy relationship with God and knowing I would be nothing without him, giving him glory and praise constantly.

I want to live comfortably and not have to think twice when I want to get something for myself. But I also want to spend wise and not be greedy. It’s easy to get caught up in the hype but money doesn’t mean to success to everyone. Try to think of things with substance and that give you a sense of accomplishment.

What does Success mean to you?

Tell Us What You Think...

