The Year of Why Not. 

By Jillynn Reese

Last Friday, I was blessed to see my twenty-fourth birthday. While being super excited for year 24, I explained to all my family and friends just how different it feels. Recently graduating from Western Michigan University, I’ve been interning at ArtPrize.org in the communication department. This was a goal a year ago,  working in my field in all. I finally feel like an adult.


Ofcourse, I’ve been on my own for the past 5 years, but I was always a dependent student. I’ve come to the realization that, I call the shots in my life from here on out.  College was forced, my parents weren’t playing that. Since graduation I’ve been pondering on what’s next after this internship. So my Bestfriend and I are declaring year 24 as the #YearofWhyNot.
Since there is so much I want to accomplish by 25, there is no excuse for this ordinary life I live. I don’t want to be ordinary and neither should you. The year of “why not” is challenging us to step out our comfort zones and take charge of our life and the goals we will accomplish.


In a few months, I’ll be returning to Detroit to live with my parents. During this time, I will be investing in my brand. Developing my business and exposing my skills to the world. So far, I’ve started my personal blog (Click here to check that out), I’ve joined this awesome network of social bees :), I’ve joined the snapchat takeover challenge for this platform and I’ve started working on a business plan. So I’m on a roll. I encourage every millennial and recent graduate to take charge and invest in your passions.

Why should you be asking, why not? Simply because you are the only person who can stop you from experiencing your optimal life. Most times it’s usually money or fear that keeps us from living. This is where sacrafice comes into play, take those moments to self-improve.

Here is some advice I’ve recently received; monitor your time, are you allocating the proper time to your goals. If not, eliminate unnecessary task in your day. Also, have you taken advantage of each opportunity presented to you? If not, why?

Write it down.

Your only limit is you. Get out of your way! Stop allowing self-sabotage to keep you from your dream life. Make the promise to yourself to live optimally, and whatever that looks like for you will happen. You just have to move.

You’ve got this!

Tell Us What You Think...

