Learn From the Pros

Everyday we wake up with the intention to do great things. Wether that be, being great at our new job, helping an old lady cross a busy street or just being a great friend, we all start with great intentions. Throughout the day, we experience situations that make our reactions not so great. Like this morning when that guy cut you off while merging on the highway. Yeah, I probably would have yelled and cursed him out too. But regardless, we allow temporary situations to distract us from our greatness. 

Take this  moment to learn from the pros. There are people in this world that wake up and plan to do terrible things, however we can’t be afraid to live amongst these frigid people. We must find a sense of peace in this world. It’s important to allow yourself to live and be happy no matter what evil the world may bring. 

“Be not afraid of greatness. Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and others have greatness thrust upon them.” William Shakespere

This great poet and play writer, has a valid point. See, we can’t allow ourselves to be fearful of our greatness. It is the one thing that will get us to where we want to be in life. Our greatness allows us to see our flaws as opportunities of improvement,  instead of lack of skill. William Shakespeare, believed that everyone was capable of greatness, it’s just up to the individual to want to be great. 

“Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.” Albert Einstein 

Think back when that guy cut you off, what was your immediate reaction? Was that reaction necessary? Probably not, since he could hear how stupid of a driver he is and the fact that his past drivers instructor should be incarcerated for allowing you to pass drivers ed. So why allow that moment to cold heartedly piss us off and distract us from our greatness. 

Last week I made the decision to start going to bible study on a weekly basis. As a child Wednesday’s after school that’s where I would be, why did things change. Then I realized it’s because I’m an adult, I have the right to choose wether or not I want to sit in church for a few hours after staring at a computer screen for most of my day. 

As an adult I can choose this for myself, without my mom yelling about how I need to go. For years I chose not to, actively seek a church in my neighborhood because, “I didn’t like none of the churches in Kalamazoo,” or because “I already had a church home in Detroit.” Even though I haven’t been there in forever since I’ve moved away. 

However, I also wasn’t tapping into my greatness by feeding my spirit with what I believe in. Allowing my day to day routine be more important than my potential to be a greater self. 

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Philippians 4:13

Being great takes practice, if the pros can do it so can you. 

Peace. 

Tell Us What You Think...

